Posted on


Great Norther Crit Supported By Wheelbase

Saturday the 17th of July saw the first round of the all-new Great Northern Crit Series supported by Wheelbase taking placing under blue skies and high temperatures at the Salt Ayre circuit on the banks of the River Lune in Lancaster.

The Great Northern Crit Series is a new National B Crit Series across the North of England boasting a men’s and women’s race with equal prize money and equal race distances as well as a 3/4 Cat support race. This top new crit series is a Loftus Tours Production organised by one of our long-serving Wheelbase Cabtech Castelli team riders – Tyla Loftus; we are proud to support the series and are excited to see some top racing in the next few weeks and months.

Round one saw a special extra incentive for race success – PIES! Thanks to our fellow race sponsor Geo Middlemiss & Son butchers for providing the podium pies!

The Women’s National B saw plenty of attacking throughout the race, but with no break sticking until the end we were treated to a bunch sprint which saw Lucy Lee take the win from Samantha Stuart in second place with Flora Knight sprinting strongly to take the final place on the podium.

The Men’s National B race was frenetic from the start with multiple attacks going from the gun. Eventually a group of 6 strong riders was established and this held until the end of the race when Leon Mazzone took the win in a sprint from the select breakaway group. Thomas Mitchell took the second place with Ashley Marshall rounding out the podium for his Geo Middlemiss & Son pie!

The 3/4 Cat support race supported by Middlemiss & Son Butchers was fast paced from the get-go and saw multiple attacks from the bunch until Ryan Coulton managed to stay away before being joined by a super-strong Jake Makin who would eventually go on to take the win.

Special thanks to Ellen Isherwood for capturing the event with her awesome photos! Check them out below…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

The Women’s race was fast and frenetic…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

Ryan Middlemiss strings out the bunch…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

The Women’s National B race took place in sweltering conditions…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

Logan Maclean in action after his comeback from serious injury and racing strongly…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

Stu Reid puts the power down out of the corners…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

Logan Maclean rode strongly in the National B race…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

Gemma Sargent throwing her bike over the line for 4th place in the Women’s National B race…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase

Stu Reid checking to see if he’s escaped the pack…

Great Northern Crit Series Supported By Wheelbase


Written by Johnny Dodgin

Photos by Ellen Isherwood


Race Results

Wheelbase Women’s Nat B Series

  1. Lucy Lee Team LDN – Brother UK (2nd Cat)
  2. Samantha Stuart Crimson Orientation Marketing (2nd Cat)
  3. Flora Knight Loughborough Lightning – TRG (2nd Cat)
  4. Gemma Sargent Saint Piran WRT (2nd Cat)
  5. Savannah Morgan Isorex NoAqua Ladies Cycling T (3rd Cat)
  6. Olivia French SKODA DSI Cycling Academy (3rd Cat)
  7. Amy Gornall Pro-Noctis – Redchilli Bikes (2nd Cat)
  8.  Nicola Soden Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling (2nd Cat)
  9. Isla Rush AWOL Worx Galliard (3rd Cat)
  10. Rebecca Rimmington (3rd Cat)
  11. Gabrielle Duckworth Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling (3rd Cat)
  12. Jane Hellewell Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling (2nd Cat)
  13. Daisy Barnes Brother U.K – Cycle Team On Form (3rd Cat)
  14. Issy McKinnon Team 22 (3rd Cat)
  15. Iona Sewell Datalynx-Parenesis Cycling (2nd Cat)

Wheelbase Men’s Nat B Series

  1. Leon Mazzone Crimson Orientation Marketing (2nd Cat)
  2. Thomas Mitchell Birkenhead North End CC (1st Cat)
  3. Ashley Marshall (2nd Cat)
  4. Conor McKinnon Dolan Ellesse Race Team (2nd Cat)
  5. Joe Coukham Prologue Racing Team (2nd Cat)
  6. George Peden Team PB Performance (2nd Cat)
  7. Tom Cullen Otley CC (2nd Cat)
  8. Jack Crook Dolan Ellesse Race Team (1st Cat)
  9. Chris Sherriffs Crimson Orientation Marketing (Elite)
  10. Louis Moore Vanelli-Project Go (2nd Cat)
  11. Matti Dobbins RT23 (1st Cat)
  12. Craig Rogers Cambridge University CC (2nd Cat)
  13. Tom Lowe (1st Cat)
  14. Jamie Mackenzie META Bike Division (2nd Cat)
  15. David Hill Giant-Kendal RT (2nd Cat)
  16. Tarn Fynn Manchester Bicycle Club (2nd Cat)
  17. Jordan Hill ASFRA Racing Team (1st Cat)
  18. Gregor McArthur Vanelli-Project Go (2nd Cat)
  19. Simon Wilson Ribble Weldtite Pro Cycling (Elite)
  20. Sam Kettlewell TS Racing (2nd Cat)
  21. Logan Maclean Wheelbase CabTech Castelli (1st Cat)
  22. Joseph Wilson Cog Set Papyrus Racing Club (3rd Cat)
  23. Matthew Dobbing Cleveland Whls RT/Catley Lakeman RT (1st Cat)
  24. Mark Jagger Lifting Gear Prod- CyclesInMotion (2nd Cat)
  25. Corey Whiteford Lanark Race Team (A Cat)
  26. Richard Evans Birkenhead North End CC (2nd Cat)
  27. Alistair Thomas Crimson Orientation Marketing (1st Cat)
  28. Sam Lashley Wheelbase CabTech Castelli (2nd Cat)
  29. Declan Hudson Dolan Ellesse Race Team (1st Cat)
  30. Chris Thomas CCCR (2nd Cat)
  31. Stuart Reid Wheelbase CabTech Castelli (3rd Cat)
  32. Oliver Huszar Crimson Orientation Marketing (1st Cat)

Geo Middlemiss & Sons 3/4 Support Race

  1. Jake Makin Windle Race Team (3rd Cat)
  2. Ryan Coulton Better Cycling (4th Cat)
  3. Russell McLean Beacon Wheelers (3rd Cat)
  4. John Bardsley Cog Set Papyrus Racing Club (A Cat)
  5. Sonny Miles-Currey (4th Cat)
  6. David Jackson Chorley Cycling Club (3rd Cat)
  7. Jonathan-James Foster-Smith (4th Cat)
  8. Leon Barnes CCCR (3rd Cat)
  9. Harry Hunt Otley CC (3rd Cat)
  10. Thomas McCann (3rd Cat)
  11. Matthew Maguire JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team (3rd Cat)
  12. Keith Law Lakes RC (4th Cat)
  13. Ricardo Torrao Inflite-Dynamic Rides Race Team (3rd Cat)
  14. Thomas Minns Giant-Kendal RT (3rd Cat)
  15. John Bolton Chorley Cycling Club (4th Cat)
  16. Archie Duckworth Green Jersey CC (3rd Cat)
  17. William Dykes Cog Set Papyrus Racing Club (3rd Cat)
  18. Simon Mulholland Hoppers Rollers (3rd Cat)
  19. Tom Lees JRC-Shutt-Ridley Race Team (3rd Cat)
  20. Ryan Middlemiss Wheelbase CabTech Castelli (3rd Cat)